Granny Heirlooms

So what did you find in Granny’s display cabinet?

This is my collection, all from my mother’s display cabinet.  My mother, but always was and will be called, Granny.  She would have been 100 this year.

This jam or sugar bowl is ornate, has no hall mark or maker mark on the bowl; I do know that it was her mother’s and a wedding gift to her mother if I am not mistaken.

The bathing booth was a particular favourite of hers; she didn’t buy it herself.  It says underneath ‘made in Germany.’  I know that she received it from someone because she said she liked it.  I questioned her one day about it, as it was also one of my favourites. It must have been purchased at Southend-on-sea, UK.  A holiday purchase perhaps?  But by whom.

 My mother’s christening mug.  I’d say pewter, probably purchased in Dublin, Ireland almost 100 years ago.  There is mark underneath that seems to read, CHA s L.REISA&Co. 

Mom bought these herself in Cork as a souvenir when they went back on a visit in 1979 to the land of their birth.  They are Royal Tara, bone china, made in Ireland.  So cute! 

And last but definately not least, six sweet or starter stemmed glass bowls.  They were a gift on my parents ruby wedding anniversary.  They are not exceptional by maker, but have earned a rightful place in our family on every special occasion table, as the ‘prawn cocktail glasses’.  If you come to dinner and the red glasses are out;  you are special too.

If not, what can I say?  

 

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in display cabinet, Heirlooms, Ireland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Granny Heirlooms

  1. Tammy says:

    Ah the glasses always a memory of happy meals together!

  2. fgassette says:

    WELCOME! Thank you for subscribing to follow my blog. I hope you are encouraged, inspired and enjoy the photos I take and post.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

