The “K” of South Africa

The “K” of South Africa

For Jenny’s Alphabe Thursday, I am going to write my thoughts, the bits and bobs that I remember of how it was for me, during my almost fifty years spent in South Africa.
These are my ‘K’ memories, opinions and views on a time during a much loved childhood and beyond!

Knysna, Kraal, Klein Karoo, Kudu, Kitten, Kimberley, Knock three times 1971, Kempton Park, Kris Kristofferson, Kolbe Street, Kwela,

What an easy one this week!  The kicking “K“!   Childlike.

We must have a little water to kick it off, because I am a water person!

Knysna, yes!!

No, No, not again!!  Lets do the desert, the Klein Karoo? 

What about plain old boring Kempton Park, the ‘airport’ town in Transvaal! 

The way I remember it, Jan Smuts International Airport in Kempton Park outside Johannesburg.

A place for meeting and greeting and shedding a tear.  Often in the 1980’s a place where families spent a Sunday afternoon, watching planes and having afternoon tea!  In the 1970’s this airport was used as a test airport for the Concorde.

OK, Let’s see the Karoo and Kalahari in the Cape.  The transformed desert!

A semi desert, dry and dusty transformed into a paradise of wild flowers over night.  People drive hundreds of miles to see these; once arid fields, that become so stunning.

Knysna again, of course!  It’s a little slice of paradise too.   A coastal destination on the garden route of the cape; an absolute must see. 

It is one of the top 100 places to see before there is no time left.

And so to some wild life, the Kudu.  What a beautiful animal.  This one is male. 

Their numbers are dwindling in Africa because of hunting.  The are not small buck and the male stands about 1.80 (71″)to shoulder height.

The family kitten, features in another post, but is still worth a mention in the K section. 

When Fluffy came to stay……

It was kind of a “Girls Rule” day, that day.  Dad said definately, no cats, because the girls had bulldogs for pets, (actually he had bulldogs)

Doing my school run that day there was an extra passenger. All fluff and hardly any body. Thus the name — it stuck. 

Dad said her hours were numbered and that she would end up just a bit of fluff on the carpet!  

However, the girls had something to hold and cuddle, while three curious dogs knew something was going on in the house.  For days they were kept apart.

Fluffy soon became bored and wondered what or who was snuffling under the doors trying to smell her each day.

 In the evenings at “Sweetpea”, our cottage beside the Indian ocean, we would sit outside on the veranda, as a family, taking in the night air; the bulldogs lying panting on the then cool slasto with the doors to the house wide open, and Fluffy locked safely away.

But Fluffy got out one night, peeped around the corner of the door,  then suddenly leapt into the middle of the garden table, where from an excellent vantage point she surveyed her new four legged siblings.

She allowed her tail to swish over the edge of the table just enough to tempt the dogs who began to circle the table. When they tried to get closer to sniff her, near the edge of the table, she spat and showed her claws.

The bravest, Zach, even tried to climb onto the table; but she let him have it with a sharp claw, he yelped and backed away, blood running down his nose.  I think it was at about that moment that Fluffy, our kitten, became a fully fledged family member for real. 

She ruled for fifteen years!

I have grand memories of Kris Kristofferson singing,

“Sunday morning coming down” amongst other songs; but hey, this one especially, because it reminds me of an old friend of mine.

My old friend who we spent weekends down at the Vaal dam in the Transvaal with, skiing behind a floral coloured boat called “Flower Power”, and camping in weird places.  Our old friends who I think of so much these days as we have lost contact.  So this one is for you: Trish!

To all the lonely people out there, Sunday is a bad day when you have no one beside you; and everyone else has it all!  I have experienced that, and also always thought of Trish. 

Where are you, Trish?

Thanks Kris Kristofferson! (CLICK TO LISTEN)

Around 1971 in my life, there was a hit song in S.A., Knock Three Times by Dawn, who remembers that?

With that I will close and head off back to the kraal, to put my head down in a Zulu hut and sleep.

Till next time…..

 

To follow other alphabet letters on SA you may have missed, follow this link:

https://writingmuscle.wordpress.com/a-z-of-south-africa/

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in African animals, Alphabet Thursday, Beach, Bulldogs, South Africa and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The “K” of South Africa

  1. A friend of mine is spending most of the month of Sept. in So. Africa. I’ll have to send her this link!!

    • liz2you says:

      September is the springtime month, and the early rains and wind should be over, in August. I would love a little visit back. Thanks for your visit and passing on my link. Liz

  2. Judie says:

    The ocean photo is to die for! And the wildflowers! I love the wildflowers of South Africa. This is a fabulous post. Have a nice nap in one of the huts.

    • liz2you says:

      I have found a way of being back in the past and the old South Africa; and am enjoying my journey as well. Thanks.
      Liz

  3. Anita says:

    Oh drat…now I’m going to have the Knock Three Times melody floating around my head all evening! 😉

  4. Anne says:

    I am already buzzing in my head with Knock Three Times! LOL! I love Kris Kirsofferson! He looks good even today ! His voice was unique and one of a kind! Your post is really wonderful. I enjoyed this very much!

  5. ImagesByCW says:

    Beautiful words and beautiful pictures! I love travelling and Africa is the one spot that I really, really want to go when the opportunity arises – sigh – beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing part of your life with us.

    • liz2you says:

      Thank you, thank you, I do love to make a mark.
      Please feel free to browse other letters from I to J, just a click away.

      I am travelling over to yours now!
      Lioz

  6. Pondside says:

    I’ve never been to Africa, so your tour of the Ks of South Africa was a treat. What a beautiful continent Africa is!

  7. A few years back we went to see Kris in koncert.

    How the heck did he get so old?

    My husband and I have certainly not aged as much!

    Another InKredible link to Alphabe-Thursday!

    I loved your kitten story, too!

    Thanks for linking.

    A+

    • liz2you says:

      I wish I had seen him live! Age is darn near a very bad enemy of mine, cause the amount of things I still have to do…it better stop moving for a while so I can catch up.
      Mind we never will, not us creators and do-ers!!
      Thanks for reading.
      Liz

Leave a Reply

