The ‘Z’ of South Africa

I am going to write my thoughts, the bits and bobs that I remember of how it was for me, during my almost fifty years spent in South Africa.

These are my ‘Z’ memories, opinions and views on a time during a much loved childhood and beyond!

Zebra, Zanadu, Zeerust, Zinnia, Zucchini

Imagine that! We have zipped through the alphabet, and South Africa.  Up and down the coastlines, through the cities and up to the highest peaks of the mountains and back.  It is almost all over! 

Shall I start with a pretty flower, the Zinnia which we have an abundance of in South  Africa, but we also have the African Zinnia; so lets compare.

Zinnia

African Zinnia

Samual Taylor Coleridge

 We studied the poetry of Samual Taylor Coleridge when doing finals in High School and I will always remember this one:

Kubla Khan

In Xanadu did Kubla Khan
A stately pleasure-dome decree :
Where Alph, the sacred river, ran
Through caverns measureless to man
Down to a sunless sea.
So twice five miles of fertile ground
With walls and towers were girdled round :
And there were gardens bright with sinuous rills,
Where blossomed many an incense-bearing tree ;
And here were forests ancient as the hills,
Enfolding sunny spots of greenery. (exerpt) published in 1816

He was born in 1772 in Devon, England and studied to become a church minister; he also had strong political views of a communistic flavour.  He was a lecturer, author and poet, writing poems like ‘The Ancient Mariner.’

Church built by Casper Coetzee

This is a lovely little story set in the mid 1800, about a man named Coetzee, who was building a church on his farm in the Transvaal, South Africa, but died before it was completed. 

His brother completed it, layed his brother to rest (not in that order, I hope!) and named the place Coetzee Rust in honour of his brother. (later shortened to Zeerust)

Zeerust is now a thriving municipality with lead and chrome mines and is on the main rail line to Zimbabwe and Botswana.

Zeerust

Zeerust, isn’t it interesting how places get there names!

And vegetables, Zucchini, who thought up that one?  Good thing though, because now I have another Z!

Click on the picture and move to a web site with recipes of what to do to enjoy this vegetable.

And so we say “Totsiens!” “Goodbye” from the A-Z of South Africa.

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The ‘Z’ of South Africa

  1. Eveline Mc Nally says:

    Another nice one Betty!

  2. Zee Rust — a charming forshortening! Have enjoyed “visiting” South Africa with you each week.

    • liz2you says:

      Great that you visited me and I have been to youe site, but it won’t even allow me to click like! Maybe I am doing it wrong!!!

  3. TBM says:

    Fun! I spent 5 wonderful days in South Africa and loved it there. I wish I could go back and explore more.

  4. I love zinnias! And I memorized that poem years ago and I closed my eyes and recited it perfectly right along with your post.

    Okay.

    I’m lying.

    I screwed up two parts.

    But it was ALMOST perfect!

    Thanks for zis cute conclusion to a really fun theme!

    A+++++

Leave a Reply

