“The World” in one Country-South Africa

“I write of South Africa, where my heart sometimes resides, and my mind often drifts back to, across the distance of lands and oceans. An Africa that always beats with a strong heart of different people, languages and cultures, who irrefutably call this land their home.”South Africa

From – H- Hartbeespoort, last week, we have travelled 651 km to the Indian Ocean to Durban, by road.

It is often said of South Africa, that it is like a world in one country, and surrounded by two oceans.  The Atlantic and the Indian.  This week I’d like to highlight, the Indian Ocean.

Queensbury Point

The Indian Ocean with it’s warm currents, the place thousands upon thousands of people flock to each year to swim, surf and lap up the sunshine on the beach.

Meeting waters

Two oceans meet at the tip of Africa, at Cape Agulhas.  One cold, Atlantic, and one warm, the Indian.  Some days you can see the different ocean colours. 

Ridiculous!!

Margate beach

Not ridiculous really; as they definately have different tempretures, different salt content and therefore different plankton grow in the waters, changing the colour. 

Indian and Atlantic

Often the difference is not as pronounced and seen more as pockets of colour.

South Africa

All the large place names are marked on the map above, but its the smaller towns down the Eastern side of South Africa, that begin with “I”, all thanks to the Zulu language.  We have Ifafa beach, Ilovo beach, Isipingo beach, Ingwavuma and Ixopo.

Great Kei River

The many rivers of South Africa some small, some huge, empty their contents into the sea.  This is called the Great Kei river, made up of tributaries, Swart Kei and White Kei, that meets the Indian ocean at Kei Mouth in the Eastern Cape.

Buffalo river mouth

This is the Buffalo river, and is the only navigable river in South Africa, spilling its contents at East London.

storms river mouth

Now I wouldn’t want to bore you with too much information, but I just love water, water photos and the sound of running, lapping and fast flowing water. 

It was therefore a great pleasure when I found this place in 1973, Storm’s river mouth. 

Storm’s river mouth is arush with noise!

A sound of strength and power unequalled by man.

storms river gorge

From a write up I read somewhere today,

“Arriving at Storms river is like arriving at a different planet.”

1973 was the one and only time I actually travelled around the garden route of the Cape, even though I had lived in SA close to 50 years, WHAT A FOOL!

Bloukrans River Bridge

Another river flowing into the Indian, Bloukrans River. Can you see the bridge in the distance. 

Bloukrans Bridge

This bridge is famous for having the highest commercial bungy jump in the world; if this takes your fancy!

storms river bridge

It is a place of adventure, the Tsitsikamma Forest and National park.  A time to monkey around!  With tours through the trees available as well.

Canopy tours

But I would like to end touching water, my favourite! So here is a shot of……..My favourite, The Indian Ocean.

Storm's river mouth too

This part of Jenny’s Alphabe Thursday Challenge- Letter I.

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Thursday, Indian Ocean, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “The World” in one Country-South Africa

  1. Peggy Tee says:

    Great post – love the diversity of landscapes in the country.

  2. Charlotte says:

    Absolutely beautiful !!!

  3. joanfrankham says:

    Wonderful place, have also lived many years in Africa, and it gets in your blood! I look forward to reading more of your travels.

  4. domesstique says:

    Stunning photos…such a great post.

  5. Gattina says:

    Beautiful pictures ! Makes me want to escape the cold and snowy weather !

  6. What lovely shots! I can see why you are entranced with this beautiful place.

  7. pamela says:

    Awesome post! I love seeing the two different ocean colours meet 🙂

  8. Paula J says:

    How beautiful! Interesting about the oceans being different colors.

  9. joanfrankham says:

    Hi, I am not sure how you feel about blog awards, but recently my blog Retirement and Beyond was nominated for the Liebster award. Part of the rule is that I nominate 11 up and coming blogs, One of the blogs that I am nominating is your blog. If you are interested in participating in this bloggers award (that is if you have not received the same nomination before),please visit my post on the Liebster Award http://joanfrankham.wordpress.com. Once you accept the nomination please send me the link to your Liebster Award post,I do want to know more about my fellow bloggers whose blog I find interesting and inspirational to other bloggers.

  10. Oh my. These pictures are even more stunning than the last.

    I love the convergence of the waters together. It’s hard to believe that those lines could exist in liquid form.

    That bridge over Buffalo River. Ummm… it made my heart ‘thump, thump, thump’. Yikes. Those are some brave souls.

    And I am intriqued with the drama of Storm River. It makes you want to explore! Who knows what discoveries might be found between those steep, treed cliffs!

    I loved your intriquing link this week!

    Thank you! Thank you!

    A+

  11. scsurfbutler says:

    If I never make it to South Africa, I feel like I have with these photos!!

    • liz2you says:

      Thanks for visiting,
      Ahhh, but that is only the coastline, the east coast. But I am with you on that, who needs anything else I say! Only water!

Leave a Reply

