Wonderboom-Pretoria- South Africa

“I write of South Africa, where my heart sometimes resides, and my mind often drifts back to, across the distance of lands and oceans. An Africa that always beats with a strong heart of different people, languages and cultures, who irrefutably call this land their home.”

Today I wished to write of the “Wonderboom”, a wonder tree, in Afrikaans, as it is “W” day at Alphabe Thursday. However while searching for illustations that reminded me of my many past visits there when I was a child,(when it was still located outside Pretoria!)

Wonderboom- a fig tree

I found this amazing blog!! ‘Called 2Summers’

Thankyou Heather, I have reblogged your story!!  Hope you don’t mind.

An Unplanned Day Trip to the Wonderboom!! 

I could never have done this landmark justice, the way she has, her pictures are amazing and up to date!  Not sure my memory could have even touched this……..

Please go over to “2Summers” and take a look.

This is for my entry in Jenny’s Alphabe Thursday– Letter W

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Thursday, Pretoria, Wonderboom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wonderboom-Pretoria- South Africa

  1. Stacia says:

    Wow, what a tree! Wonderboom indeed.

  2. 2summers says:

    Thanks so much Liz, I’m glad you enjoyed the post! Thanks for the reblog.

    • liz2you says:

      Hi Heather,
      I would love you to “Be my guest!” on my site. I have a section for this. Write a little entry about what you like or don’t like, somewhere you love, something you remember about SA. Email me a pic of you too and also illustrations (photos). I will be glad to link it to your blog.
      email: betsahoy@aol.com
      Liz

  3. Great W post! It is definitely wonderbloom 🙂

    Hugs,
    Scudds

  4. What a great “W” post!

  5. Erin says:

    Wonderboom! Great word. Great tree. 🙂

  6. Wanda says:

    Thanks for sharing your own and 2Summers connection with this tree. I had never heard of it before–it’s amazing to think it’s more than a thousand years old. Great “W” post!

  7. The size of that Wonderboom is Wild…

    I Wish I could go see that in person…

    Wonderful job on the letter W…

    Thanks for linking!

    A+

Leave a Reply

