Starting Over- All the X’s – South Africa

“I write of South Africa, where my heart sometimes resides, and my mind often drifts back to, across the distance of lands and oceans. An Africa that always beats with a strong heart of different people, languages and cultures, who irrefutably call this land their home.”

South Africa

Yes I am cheating this week on the “X”, but I will be very xplicit about my changes and xplain xactley why I am always xtremely happy in the end when starting over! 

Starting over, is hard when you face it head on ‘in fear of change’; but a lot easier if you play the challenge game. We are sometimes forced into situations and have ‘pain’ as a companion, which is never easy. 

At times like this you don’t feel like a challenge, playing a game or even the bother of the new spring sunshine outside.  You may be lacking that confidence to take steps towards new systems in this great big world, I know!

Our trees in the garden ‘started over’ this year.  Eventually, poor things!  They are fighters, through all types of weather, they wait for the right opportunity.  It helps to be a fighter.  Think, maybe I am.

Richard Branson says: if opportunity doesn’t knock, build a door.  I say: It won’t help sitting inside your room and pretending that spring isn’t outside waiting.  Nobody knows you are in there, so you feel they don’t care.

It is.  Spring.  Just waiting for you to make that xact, xtreme xit into a new life; heading towards summer.  We can dwell on the past and what would have been wonderful; but we cannot ever get it back!

Experience doesn’t always help either, believe me, after taking a huge step, starting over, moving to a new country, away from my beautiful South Africa, tragedy changed my life.  That in itself was “starting over” a bit too soon, AND all over again, but then the ‘fight’ took over. 

Game park

If my parents could make their life in South Africa, which was alien to them and far from Ireland and home, with two small children, I could go it alone in a strange country.  As soon as I accepted the ‘spring’, and walked out of my room, things began to improve. 

I could build doors!  You can.  I did.  Some things you have to do yourself, for yourself. 

Go out there and find the solution, start over, accept the change. 

Learn to Love Change if it has to Be!!

It’s Xciting stuff!

This is an entry for the letter “X”, in Jenny’s Alphabe Thursday.

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Thursday, Lonliness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Starting Over- All the X’s – South Africa

  1. artmusedog says:

    Very inspiring post ~ ‘Change’ is the one constant in life besides death and taxes. ~ Resurrection and starting over is not easy but only way to live this adventure called Life ~ Enjoy ^_^

  2. Ok, I love that line “Learn to love change if it has to be”

    I’m making that my new mantra….

    • liz2you says:

      Hi RMW,
      Yes, it may take a while to get your head in the right place; and stop running back to your room; but hey, it’s so great when you break free and know there is life out there, a new life!!
      Thanks
      Liz

  3. Debra says:

    WONDERFUL WONDERFUL X POST! 🙂

  4. I love this post!

    It reminds me so much of a sign waiting to be painted on my painting table.

    ‘She thought she could so she did!’

    Even if life doesn’t give us official ‘do overs’ we can always find something within ourselves to allow it!

    Sending you a hug and a prayer in case you need it right now!

    And also sending you an A+ for your Xcellent link to the letter X.

    A+

  5. liz2you says:

    Thanks so much Jenny!!
    Liz

Leave a Reply

