‘Ghosts’ of Africa- Click- South Africa

After reading the quote below, I have the answer now, to what haunts me!

It’s like living with a spirit within you- A Ghost.

It says “Author Unknown”, but the way it is written looks like a traslation to me, also the specific words that are used.  However it certainly fits the bill for me!

maluti-mountains-2-jpg

You see, I did leave South Africa……..

“It is always with you, there inside your head. Our rivers run …in currents, in the swirl of your thumbprints.

Our drumbeats, counting out your pulse, our coastline, the silhouette of your soul.”

So Africa smiled a little when you left.

“We are in you,” Africa said. “You have not left us, yet.” ………

Never Truer Words Spoken.

(And guess what! I now know the author, Bridget Dore, written in 1995) Thanks

(thanks to Tessa Joughin for the pic.)

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Africa, nostalgia, South Africa, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘Ghosts’ of Africa- Click- South Africa

  1. lovely quote and great shots…

  2. I loved this…

    So Africa smiled a little when you left.
    “We are in you,” Africa said. “You have not left us, yet.” ………

    What a grand and powerful place!

    Thank you for linking.

    A+

  3. Bridget Dore says:

    Hi , thanks for the post. the quote above is from my poem called “Africa Smiled” that I wrote in 1995. Let me know if you’d like a copy. It appears to have gone viral and while I’m touched that it seems to have touched so many people it is always a little disheartening to see one’s writing attributed to “anonymous”. I’d be grateful if you could reference me as the author above. thanks, Bridget Dore

    • liz2you says:

      My apologies Bridget, but I found the poem, listed as annonymous. Well written great words. I would love a copy and will repost for you. Email you when I can next be at home. Liz

Leave a Reply

