Never Over the hill! Vintage! – South Africa

Been blogging for nearly four years now, with facts, memories and happy moments recalled from my lifetime; memoirs of the charmed life we had, growing up in the protected glow of family life in South Africa.Sunrise two

Yes, a protected glow! Good times!

Four children allowed to tentatively experience life outside the nest, at their own pace; often pulled back into line sharply if “their life experience” was moving a little faster than Mom or Dad expected it to!

My stories will never be over the hill; never be too old to enjoy and always bring a smile to someone’s face; even if it is only YOUnotebookI didn’t expected a wide audience, just the right audience when I began to blog.

We never miss something until it is gone.  An old saying, but true.  Sometimes we were too busy to stop, listen and hear the whole story as it was related, and I regret this today.  For that reason, I would hope that these recollections will be of some use to someone in years to come; someone who regrets!

This ‘never over the hill’ piece of clothing still hangs on a hanger, but could grace the floor of any ballroom, given half the chance.  Feel the texture hear the rustle of elegant silk taffeta!  In the 1950’s this fabric was only manufactured in Italy or France.

I have the honour today of presenting a Vintage dress of the best; with a history and the added speciality that I have that very dress right here and now:  compliments only to my sister, who kept it safe all these years!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The gentle flow of ballgowns the rustle of the satin, hear it, touch it feel it!  I did.  It used to hang right at the very back of her wardrobe in a plastic cover all the years we were together growing up.  One special dress, that was Mommy’s. 

She would have been 100 last year.

Memories return of the friends she was with, I wonder  about where they met and what they had to chat about.  Their names were Vera and Murial; and her’s was, Eleanor.  Old fashioned names, you say?  No, right in fashion then!

Taffeta is crisp and smooth, keeps it shape and looks almost starched; made from silk and now polyester products too.  But I would say this is silk!

Late 1950's Dancing Girls, Eleanor, Vera and Murial

First her dress was full length, then cut to ballerina length; to stay in fashion.  No, she was never dull, never drab.  She was colour co-ordinated and a real lady; and only now, with this dress is my posssession, do I realize how small she was then!

That night as she dressed, we would have been whinging away because we had to go to bed; making her life difficult as we jumped and played around the room getting in her way; wanting to hold her chosen pieces of jewellery and asking for lipstick, actually just making her late. 

The little ones would want more cuddles, and she gave them gladly, as Daddy rushed her out the door.  But not before she slipped us a sweet or two. 

Great for tooth decay late at night!

music-notes

Dancing the night away to the Foxtrots, Quickstep and Waltzes as they were the dances of their time.  Some special artists they loved were Ruby Murray, the Irish singer and Dad’s tenor favourite was Mario Lanza.  Mommy loved Danny Boy; but this one by Ruby is exceptional, with memories of home. ‘Doonaree’.  Click here to listen.

(My apologies for the Ad at the start of the song; patience!)

Ruby Murray

 My entry for Alphabe Thursday at Jenny’s- For N for New, and O for Old!!

 

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Never Over the hill! Vintage! – South Africa

  1. Charlotte says:

    You do amaze us…..how you can write so much about one dress, and bring back soooo many memories. It was well worth waiting for this story……..keep the blogs coming !

    • liz2you says:

      Supposed to be getting ready for hollibobs, but got carried away with “The Dress”, thanks hope to see you soon!

  2. pam says:

    As a child I used to watch fascinated as my mother prepared to go out with Dad – I remember one of her dresses very well – and the drawer in her dressing table full of lotions and cosmetics – Helena Rubenstein and Elizabeth Arden deep red lipsticks. Pressed powder compacts and perfumes- the bottle of ‘setting lotion’ for her hair. Delightful post for N. I’ve enjoyed my visit here.
    (As a fifth generation Australian, I’ve only just found out about English ancestors further back than that who lived in Capetown South Africa – I would love to visit there one day.)

  3. liz2you says:

    Hi Pam,
    Thanks for your visit to my story today. With memories you can sometimes get lost in the detail as more and more come to mind, making the post too long. But if it goes that way, that’s the way it goes!!
    Liz

  4. Pam Beers says:

    That dress reminds me of a dress my mother used to wear. I love it. I can almost feel the texture of the material and the rustle of the dress when Mom walked arm-in-arm with my Dad. Thanks for the memories.

  5. liz2you says:

    Cool! Happy to oblige. I am such an emotional person too. Liz

  6. Wow! I really loved going down memory lane with you… Your words are so descriptive I felt like I was getting ready to go out for the night!

    Nifty post for the letter “N”!

    Thanks for linking.

    A+

Leave a Reply

