Outdoor Games- Kids Dreaded Alternative!

I was lucky enough to spend time with my grandchildren in Ireland a couple of years ago.  What can we do today?

And I was silly enough to say, oh Gran knows loads of games! Games that don’t need computers, TV and remotes.  Really?tig-tag

What games are they? The dreaded alternative today; how to make your own fun, the way children used to do. But they don’t really know how to tackle this little problem properly.

And we need to be outside, that’s the best place to play, in the sunshine. Well come on!  Sunshine is limited in Ireland, but the sun shone especially for us that day. We spent the morning on their large front lawn.

jocs-0011

We played games that I had played as a child. No props needed.  ‘Oranges and lemons’, ‘French and Engish,’ Wolf wolf what’s the time.’ And ‘I wrote a letter to my love.’  Mostly running games; yes I know, that’s why I was silly!jocs-0014

Games my daughter had forgotten all about too; she joined in to make up numbers.

We played ring a ring ‘o roses; the boys were’t too pleased with the skipping around bit,  but loved the, “all fall down at the end!!”hopscotch-playground

Hey man, we were really going for it, hopscotch came to mind; and we would have done skipping too, a special favourite of mine, if there was a rope!

skipping-alhambra-3-smallNow when I visit and we sit outside at the braai fire, the boys say: “come on Gran, lets play your games! I am gonna be the wolf!”

My bones are getting old, but those games never will!

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Outdoor Games- Kids Dreaded Alternative!

  1. joanfrankham says:

    what a great idea, as long as you can just supervise!

  2. liz2you says:

    Thanks joan, so thrilled with myself as I did this from my new samsung note, as away on holiday! Still learning to use it.

  3. Colline says:

    No, they never will. All the young ones need is for someone to teach them those games.

  4. liz2you says:

    Thanks for commenting, Colline! Home safe now; had a fab time!

Leave a Reply

