Entertainment to “Q” for!

I the 1950’s in South Africa when our mother was about 40 years plus one of her favourite films was “The Quiet Man”; for two reasons, I expect.  One that it was set in Ireland and two, that John Wayne was the leading actor. 

John_Wayne - the quiet man

Of course she said it wasn’t as good as the book, but at least the characters came to life.  And John Wayne! what’s  not to like!

John Wayne.2 jpg

It was filmed in Ireland, so she got to see a bit of the ‘ol’ country’, she would have said.  Story is that John is a boy from Pittsburgh who goes to Ireland to reclaim his family farm in Innisfree, and then falls in love with a fiery Irish red head, who leads him quite a dance on the way to the alter and married bliss.  It was set in the 1920’s as a comedy.

John Wayne

Another “Q” memory from 1956 is “Que Sera Sera”, sung by Doris Day in the film, “The Man who Knew too Much”.  But my favourite version is the one sung by Connie Frances, much later. 

The words are lovely and tell the story just as we are through life; always thinking ahead and wondering what’s around the corner. 

Doris Day

If we have time in the fast lane, these days!!

NOW make time to watch this Que Sera Sera (the name a mixture of Spanish and Italian, they say) by Connie Francis. click!

Connie_Francis 1961

When I was just a little girl

I asked my mother what will I be

Will I be pretty will I be rich

Here’s what she said to me

 

Que Sera Sera

Whatever will be will be

The future’s not ours to see

Que Sera Sera

What will be will be

 

When I grew up and fell in love

I asked my sweetheart what lies ahead

Will we have rainbows day after day

Here’s what my sweetheart said

 

Que Sera Sera

Whatever will be will be

The future’s not ours to see

Que Sera Sera

What will be will be

 

Now I have children of my own

They ask their mother what will I be

Will I be handsome will I be rich

I tell them tenderly

 

Que Sera Sera

Whatever will be will be

The future’s not ours to see

Que Sera Sera

What will be will be

Que Sera Sera

My entry for Jenny’s Alphabe Thursday, letter ‘Q’

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Entertainment to “Q” for!

  1. Eveline McNally says:

    My mother also loved the quiet man!

  2. joanfrankham says:

    I saw the Quiet Man again recently, and it’s still enjoyable, John Wayne and Maureen O’Hara were great together.

  3. John Wayne is the quintessential actor…

    Que Sera Sera is a high quality song too…

    This was quite an impressive post for the letter “Q”!

    Thanks for linking.

    A+

Leave a Reply

