Ordinary but Special

Sometimes the word ordinary can mean ‘special’. Example: He went out to lunch, I was his guest and yes, it was an ordinary day.  His order, fish and chips please!  He was seventy six5-minute-friday-1 and his eyes twinkled as he ordered his Castle and my glass of wine.

But there was no twinkle in his eyes when he saw his dinner.  I ordered fish and chips!  Ordinary fish and chips! 

Yes Sir, this is fish and chips.

And what is that, he pointed at the salad on his plate.

That is garnish Sir.

Take it away, I didn’t order that!

We went to the same place for lunch often after Mommy died and they soon got to know my Dad.  The head waitress made a point of serving us at The Golden Grill.

Ah! ordinary fish and chips and a cold Castle beer, she would say as she held his table napkin and smiled.

His eyes twinkled when his plate arrived, it was ordinary, but somehow so special!

Dad and Mom

My entry in Five Minute Friday– Word Prompt- ‘Ordinary’

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Five Minute Friday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ordinary but Special

  1. Pattyann says:

    What a wonderful way to remember him. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Moyra Finlay says:

    Thank you for making me CRY !!!!!!!

  3. Colline says:

    I enjoyed reading your memory Liz.

  4. liz2you says:

    Moyra, Penny, Pattyann and Colline, Thanks for calling by!
    This man was my first love, I believed what he told me and respected him resolutely, even tried to walk in his footsteps. My Dad! Love him forever! Liz

Leave a Reply

