The “X” of South Africa

On holiday at the moment! So my entry for X , jennys alphabe thursday is a reblog! Enjoy!

'Work Out' each Day

I am going to write my thoughts, the bits and bobs that I remember of how it was for me, during my almost fifty years spent in South Africa.

These are my ‘X’ memories, opinions and views on a time during a much loved childhood and beyond!

Xhosa, Xmas, X-ray tetra, Ximenia, Xerus

You thought I was going to be stumped at the letter “X”, didn’t you; well so did I!

The Xhosa people of South Africa refer to themselves as the amaXhosa and to their language as isiXhosa.  It is the most common language after Zulu.  There are 8 million Xhosa’s in the country many in the Cape Region. 

This is where the Cape frontier wars were fought back in 1778-1878 against the Dutch and British settlers.

The Xhosas  fought for their land which was annexed from them by these colonial powers.  The Xhosa language is fascinating…

View original post 335 more words

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

