Optimism and Me

It is very tiring trying to do what you think you should be doing, because you think othersfigure-thinking think this is really what you ought to be doing; when you know that you are probably doing the best that can be done.

Why do we worry; sometimes thinking too much is a downfall.  Thinking tells me that too much is sometimes not enough, all wrong!  I know when I’m right, (which isn’t all the time, mind you!) and you know what…

“There is not enough darkness in the world to extinguish the light of one small candle.”                               A Spanish Proverb.

Not thinking about it at all is the best place I have been for the last three months, my head is clear now.  But…….still always the optimist.

“I am an optimist.  It does not seem too much use being anything else.”    Sir Winston Churchill

I can see the world on a level playing field, back to normal; not us in isolation and in the spotlight, the main arena.  Just Us.  But still moving with all the changes to come, as we all do through life, as you do.  This is simply another one for me.

“Life is change.  Growth is optional.  Choose wisely.”   Karen Kaiser Clark, USA.

Taking a break from the top gear feels good; moving into the slow lane to trundle along unnoticed like an old woman.  Till some large lorry finds I am going slower than his recommended top speed.  But he too will hopefully forget me, and simply label me ‘a stupid old woman.’ Been called that along the way.  You need to take your time when finding the right way forward.

“Much of the satisfying work of life begins as an experiment; no experiment is ever quite a failure.”   Alice Walker.   American author.

And we have time to walk this road together.  Time to find the right way with small easy steps.  Every tomorrow is precious.  Just give us time, and patience.

“The old woman I shall become will be quite different from the woman I am now.  Another “I” is beginning.”  George Sand.   A french novelist.

sunrise

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Emotion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Optimism and Me

  1. Colline says:

    I like Walker’s quote which suggests that nothing in our life is a failure. It is something to remember.

    • liz2you says:

      Thanks Colline,
      Sometimes we judge ourselves too harshly when even little things go wrong; but it is all part of the big puzzle. And we learn, my how we learn along the way!
      Liz

Leave a Reply

