Personification- Standing on the Corner

Molly loved me from the moment that we met, I could see it in her eyes. It was the third time we had met at the corner shop, she was punctual. I liked that!  I knew she’d come, she couldn’t get enough of me.  We stood inside that day away from the window and the other shoppers, that was when we first touched. Molly blushed, her blush that of youthful excitement. That was the day she took me home.

I waited in the hall with her coat and bag as she ran in search of her mother to prepare her for the meeting as it had been a hurried and rash decision. But Mother liked me, although she knew I was quite old. But, that was why Molly wanted me, she said so on the bus. It had been a difficult journey as the bus was full and the conductor was loath to let us on. I stood in the corner by the door ‘out of the way,’ he said.

Mother knew there were many of my type looking for homes in London, she also hoped that Molly would soon tire of me like all the others had, making room for things more modern without my floral decoration. Mother stood in front of me; I was allowed into the front room now! She looked at me for some time, deep in thought; she turned sideways but kept staring at me. Then she turned away, fluffed her hair, pulled in her tummy and called Molly.  I had to smile!

She said Molly could take me upstairs to her room, I wasn’t to be where she could see me. ‘Out of her sight!’ she said.

Molly used me every day and loved to look at me, the length of me and twirl around before she ran down stairs each day, her long hair tied up in a pony tail. I was with Molly for five years in that bedroom, loved every minute being with her.

She bought a long white dress, it hung on the wardrobe for days, I knew something odd was happening. There was a buzz about the house.  She tried it on one night for me and stood before me for my approval. She was beautiful, more beautiful than she had ever been. That was the last day I saw Molly, and the last time she touched me.

She had moved on, found a young man, married and I was left to my fate, just as Mother had predicted. Back to the corner shop I went. I was much older now, not so fresh, but I hoped still handsome.

Karen loved me from the moment that we met, I could see in her eyes…..

Guess what I am?

Written for FWF prompt- Personification.

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in FWF and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Personification- Standing on the Corner

  1. shani says:

    very good. loved reading it. i think its a french dresser.

  2. liz2you says:

    No but you’re on the right track!

  3. Well written. I’m thinking antique mirror also. But it must be ornate in a way that is not appealing to all.

  4. Mark says:

    Very interesting! I read it twice and was thinking of a musical instrument of some kind, then I read the other comments about it being an antique mirror. Very well done!!!

  5. I had to re-read it after reading the comments and it made much more sense as to what it was. Great one!

Leave a Reply

