Don’t Conform- Dare to step out of Routine…

When we have routine we are content.  We are focussed to perform and get things done well.  Really?  Or, are we not in a rut?

Like the hamster that runs around and around and up and down on a structured route, because that is what he does.  If you are out of routine you tend to lose track of time, and  whats normal and then panic sets in.  Why?

hamster manShouldn’t we just do this, step out, pause; then along the way, look at the whole picture; see the scene from a different angle, get fresh ideas and find new ways of working.  You may say that you enjoyed the old routine track too! but was it not ever all becoming like ‘one foot in front of the other?’

When you drop routine for a few days- you feel free- you become a calmer person.  Priorities change.
You are easier to reason with and you blood preasure drops!

Do that task because you want to, not because you need to; it’s so much more fun!

Now ‘FUN’ thats another thing, hardly ever included in routine.

My change in routine happened because of our circumstanes and neccesity but I am loving it now.  At first I had to blame someone and it was easy to metre that out.  Why me?  Why now!!

Now it is my choice, enjoyment is inevitable.  Routine happens within my choice.  Enjoy work, I do!

What can you do to reduce routine?

Written as part of Alphabe Thursday at Jenny’s

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Don’t Conform- Dare to step out of Routine…

  1. Anne says:

    Nicely said! I work in an office filled with drama. I decided two days ago to mind my own business constantly and work harder at completed some tasks that others leave behind. Without proper prior authorizations or referrals the doctor I work for will not be getting paid on services rendered. Life is tough. People are mean. I like to be surrounded by kind hearts rather than meanies who never complete their share of the work.
    Sorry to vent! I enjoyed your post and wish you a beautiful weekend.

  2. liz2you says:

    Thanks Anne, I can be a loner too. Sometimes the team holds me back, which may and may not be a good thing. You too, enjoy! Liz

  3. Cris says:

    Such a great post! And very nicely said 🙂

  4. Betty says:

    Some really good advice.

  5. This is some great advice.

    And the timing of it is impeccable for me.

    You’ve given me a lot to think about!

    Thank you for that.

    And thank you for linking to the letter D.

    A+

Leave a Reply

