Take the High Road

Yesterday…..

“Confidence is a walk in the park”, he said.  “Come, I’ll show you!”

I think that was when I knew he was right for me, he made me feel good about myself.  That, and the fact that we didn’t want to be apart; things worked better together.  We were good together.  Amazing friends, lovers and partners.

The day he asked me to marry him, I had been about to ask him, but was terrified that the answer would be, No.  Not so confident then!  We married in a rush, not wanting it to escape us, or worse, that the  world should end before this could happen.

“Always take the High Road”, he said, “go for all you can get and expect nothing less.”  Another theory of his; “Keep your head up and look ahead”, because ‘yesterday’ was just the lessons we learned to get us to where we are today.

No, I won’t use that word ‘the journey’, because some were not good experiences; it wasn’t always like that.  Holidays and journeys are meant to be good.  Sometimes its the Low Road, the back roads of darkness we have to walk.

Today…

Now more so than ever, that ‘confidence’ is so necessary for me to continue on the High Road, looking ahead; I wonder where I may have been now without these lessons he taught me long ago.

Some days the Low Road looks like the easy way out; the cowardly way; but I lift up my head and look straight ahead.   I tell him, “Darling, go for all you can get, don’t take anything less.” and

“Confidence is a walk in the park, come I will show you!”

 

For my husband….

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Take the High Road

  1. I love this! What a great tribute to your partner…

  2. liz2you says:

    Thanks, RMW,
    My road has been harder this last year, harder than he will ever know. But I love him.
    Liz

  3. Tammy says:

    Beautiful. This year has been hard for you. More than anyone else will know. Keep on that road with him by your side and you can’t go far wrong xxx

  4. I love his and your metaphor for life. Walking confidently on the low roads eventually get us back to the high roads. So, I like to think. 🙂

  5. Bonny says:

    Such a lovely piece of writing – so honest and heartfelt. It’s not been an easy road at all for either of you and harder still for you to feel you are on that low road. Keep walking up to that high road together. You will get there and be better together for pushing on xxx

Leave a Reply

