Utopia of Mine

There would have to be sand and sea and blue skies.  Always water for me! The sound of rushing water is peaceful.

Viv one

And so too is the sound of beating rain on the roof after a long hot summer.

Or a waterfall pouring down a mountainside.

Utopia means ‘no place’ in Greek. But the ‘perfect society’ on an imaginary island to Sir Thomas More.

I wouldn’t have to dash off to an island like Thomas imagined; but it would have to be a place of peace where friends could hang out…. like this….. ? Wine on tap??

Shed

All places and things would be free with no queues and no closing times; this way no one would be rushing about getting stressed.   Life would be slower.  The people of the world would be at peace with each other.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I would write, have time to write, plan my day and be organised.  I would even love the world to go back to letter writing.  Receiving letters was always so exciting!!

letters

We might have to do something about the mobile devices that are stuck to peoples’ hands; have a revival of face to face socializing…. tough call…. it would be moving back in time, ignoring the technology that rules our lives.  Could I do that?

old watch

Actually my Utopian needs would be simple; health and happiness and to be left to live in peace with those I love in a beautiful place near a real beach with crashing waves.  It couldn’t be on an island far away from friends and shops!  Nah….

My Utopian way of life would still have structure, because we all need to have a purpose and a reason to get up in the morning.

And……if I really think about it, Utopia is ‘no place’, because it can be right where you are, right now, if you want it to be.

Happiness is an inside job!

Letter U for Alphabe Thursday

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Alphabet Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Utopia of Mine

  1. I really like your parting sentiment…Utopia is right where you are♪

    • liz2you says:

      Wow, yes, it hit me like a hammer; hey am I really THAT unhappy? No……. but Utopia, well it should be perfect. Scary if I don’t know what is my perfection?

  2. Betty says:

    I loved what you said about letters and mobile devices! I’ve always wanted to have a house with a tin roof so I could really hear the rain fall.

    • liz2you says:

      Yes Betty, I had that experience when I lived in South Africa. And there it rains in torrents! Real heavy big drops. Thanks for reading. Liz

Leave a Reply

