Warm Heart Wednesday

Jenny, thank you, I have decided to join you! Journal of Joy!!

For 7 long months I have told myself that I am too occupied with my responsibilities and illness in the house for the last 2 years.  Maybe this will give me the kick start needed to get back to my blog.

What do we all do when we meet up with someone who will listen: we moan about the weather, the late bus or the missing post.  Put all these negatives to bed; why…. Jenny said so!

To tell of my best moments from last week will give me huge pleasure, as I think everyone else is tired of my exciting news.

One: I have finally retired from a 16 year occupation working for charity, which was pretty much my life.  I was reluctant to leave it all behind, feared retirement, but am now happy that I can be at home every day and share my husbands daily challenges.

Two: The Hospice gave me a terrific send off and I was overwhelmed by the amount of staff and volunteers who turned up to say goodbye!  The words that were spoken about my time with them were beautiful, and humbling.  I was spoilt!

Three:  The very best one!!  I am returning to Ireland, the land of my birth after all these years: nearly 50 in South Africa and now we will be leaving the UK in January.  The removal truck was booked on Saturday!!!  So excited as it will open up a new life for us both and maybe bring some positives into my darling husbands life too.  And my writing and other hobbies may all see light of day again!

I have written this post for Warm Heart Wednesday.

 

 

About liz2you

Life just happens when you plan something else. 50 years spent in Africa and relevant stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Warm Heart Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Warm Heart Wednesday

  1. Betty says:

    Congratulations on your retirement and return to Ireland! Now wonder you have a warm heart.

  2. Pam Beers says:

    Best to you and your Irish roots. Congratulations.

    • liz2you says:

      Thank you Pam! We have always been Irish, our little branch, even though we lived far away. My parents never lost their accents either. I am so happy to be fulfilling a dream he, my Dad, had for someone to return one day. And my sister has also returned as well as my daughter. Thanks for visiting!!

  3. Oh hooray. So much joy in this post!

    I love all the positive things that are happening to you. Change can be so scary…and so often when we are on the other side of it we are overwhelmed by how lovely everything is.

    Going home must be so amazing.

    Growing up as a military brat and moving constantly I always felt ‘rootless’ I’ve since found a home of the heart with Mr. Jenny, but I always love hearing when lovely people like you get to go HOME HOME. And to such a lovely country as Ireland.

    I am truly happy for you.

    And I am truly thankful that you warmed my heart today. Sitting here with a silly smile imagining you seeing the emerald isle from your plane window!

    xoxoxoxo

  4. joanfrankham says:

    Nice to see you back here, congratulations on your retirement and your big move…come visit Cork sometime!

  5. liz2you says:

    Thanks for popping by Joan, I mentioned before that my Moms old stomping ground was Cork, where she had her first job. They lived in Mallow. The old home is still there. We have some settling in to do but will keep it in my thoughts!! Liz

Leave a Reply

